Dibble Shield - Highest Score Award

62 Competitions... 40 Winners... 5 Unknowns... 5 Seasons Not Awarded...

The Dibble Shield was presented to league by the then league secretary Mr T. Dibble in 1959... There have been three Dibble Shields to date...

The original shield was awarded to the player with the Highest Score during a season and if two or more players were equal, a play-off (9-dart shoot-out) deemed the winner...

The 2nd shield: every player that scored a 180 was entered into a 9-dart shoot-out, with the player with the highest cumulative score being deemed the winner; this was until 1989...

From 1990 the shield was awarded to the player who'd scored the most 180's during a season, and if more than one player were equal, then the shield wasn't awarded...

In 1998, the 3rd and current shield was introduced and the player or players with the Most Maximum's are awarded the shield (171, 174, 177 & 180)...

Year

Awarded to...

- 1959/60 A. Monk (Bakers Arms)
- 1960/61 D. Smith (Anchor)
- 1961/62 Ken Hardy (Black Bull, Blackmore)
- 1962/63 H. J. Barker (Black Bull, Blackmore)
- 1963/64 Ken Hardy (Woolpack)
- 1964/65 J. Passfield (Woolpack)
- 1965/66 G. Blackburn (Two Brewers)
- 1966/67 Jack Passfield (Woolpack)
- 1967/68 G. Gymer (Two Brewers)
- 1968/69 D. Mortimer (Crown)
- 1969/70 R. Burton (Prince Albert)
- 1970/71 No Record
- 1971/72 E. Passfield (Green Man)
- 1972/73 P. Harburn (Bird in Hand)
- 1973/74 Phil Willis (Hare & Hounds)
- 1974/75 John Driscoll (Hare & Hounds)
- 1975/76 Geoffrey Course (Beehive)
- 1976/77 Frank Tredgitt (Red Cow)
- 1977/78 No Record
- 1978/79 Ted Street (Royal Oak)
- 1979/80 Gerry Coote (Plough)
- 1980/81 *No Record*
- 1981/82 *No Record*
- 1982/83 Ashley Evans (Black Bull, Chelmsford)
- 1983/84 Terry Leather (Green Man)
- 1984/85 Steven Cumbers (Crown)
- 1985/86 No Record
- 1986/87 Kevin Webb (Ingatestone Community Centre)
- 1987/88 Michael Turner (Alma)
- 1988/89 Peter Deed (Robin Hood)
- 1989/90 Michael Cain (Badda) x5
- 1990/91 Malcolm Barber (Robin Hood), Paul Doherty (Robin Hood) & Derek Kochan (Victoria A) x3
- 1991/92 Shaun Purkiss (Anchor) x4
- 1992/93 Mick Cain (Badda), Geoff Course (Badda), Barry Devenish (Victoria A) & Rick Elliott (Red Lion) x3
- 1993/94 David Bocking (White Horse) & John Wastenage (Prince of Wales) x3
- 1994/95 Michael Turner (Victoria A) x4

- 1995/96 Ian Kirton (Victoria A) x5
- 1996/97 Brian Hasler (Victoria B) & Wayne Tyrrell (Ship) x3
- 1997/98 8-Way Tie x2
- 1998/99 John Wastenage (Chequers B) x5
- 1999/00 John Wastenage (Red Lion) x9
- 2000/01 John Wastenage (Red Lion A) x8
- 2001/02 John Wastenage (Red Lion A) x6
- 2002/03 Mark McGrath (Oakwood Dragons) x10
- 2003/04 Mark McGrath (Rising Sun Dragons) x11
- 2004/05 John Wastenage (Crown) x7
- 2005/06 Martin Compton (Black Bull, Chelmsford) x9
- 2006/07 Andrew Kateley (Chelmer Inn) x6
- 2007/08 Andrew Kateley (Chelmer Inn) x7
- 2008/09 Martin Compton (Chelmsford City Hammers) x9
- 2009/10 Barry Howgego (Eagle) & Martin Compton (Black Bull Hammers) x8
- 2010/11 Richard Howson (Chelmsford SC B) x12
- 2011/12 Steve Johnson (Rising Sun Cockles) x10
- 2012/13 Sam Lepley (Blue Lion) x14
- 2013/14 John Costigan (Royal Oak) x19
- 2014/15 Craig Vickers (Gardeners) x23
- 2015/16 Paul Barham (BMS Eagles) x16
- 2016/17 Robert Donat (Bentley Allstars) x16
- 2017/18 Craig Vickers (Gardeners) & Ryan Harrington (Galley Enders) x20
- 2018/19 Craig Vickers (Gardeners) x21
- 2019/20 No Competition
- 2020/21 No Competition
- 2021/22 Andrew Kateley (Chelmsford SC) x10
- 2022/23 Craig Vickers (Gardeners) x19
- 2023/24 Martin Compton (Anchor) x11